Sicilian Pasta Carbonara

I love pasta carbonara, and this recipe is the best out there. Why? Because I learned it from a Sicilian while staying in his apartment for free. Story time!

Once upon a time I was young and carefree and in college. I decided to spend a semester studying abroad in Sevilla, Spain, because why the hell not? I had the time of my life living in Spain for six months and traipsing about Europe on weekends. Being young, carefree, and on a serious budget, I had to cut costs in order to travel as much as I wanted to. So, some friends and I decided to cut out hostel costs by “couch surfing”–it’s basically Air BnB. Except free…sounds a little sketchy, buuut it’s hard to pass up free when you’re 20 years old and broke!

So, against the wishes of my mother who said I was probably going to get abducted by the Sicilian mafia, a girlfriend and I traveled to Palermo, Sicily and stayed with a man named Lorenzo for a few days!

I had SO much fun traveling around the island of Sicily, and of course, eating my way around Sicily. Since I love eating as much as I love traveling and enjoying a nice beverage, one of the best parts of the trip was that we were able to cook authentic dishes with Lorenzo. Story time over–here is my recipe for an authentic Sicilian pasta carbonara, as taught to me by my couch surfing host, Lorenzo!

Pasta Carbonara

Yield: 4-5 servings

What You’ll Need:

  • 1/2 pound of good bacon, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • Splash of dry white wine–about 1/3 of a cup
  • 4 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup of freshly grated parmesan cheese, plus extra for topping
  • About 1/3 cup of chopped fresh parsley
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 lb of spaghetti, cooked

What You’ll Do:

  1. Start boiling water to get your pasta cooking while you prepare the rest of the dish.
  2. Put your chopped bacon in a large stockpot, and place the pot over medium heat. Cook the bacon for about 6 minutes, or until it is fairly crispy.
  3. Remove the bacon from the pot, and drain on a plate covered in paper towels. Remove all but a few tablespoons of the bacon grease from the pot. Return pot to heat.
  4. Add your chopped onion and minced garlic to the bacon grease, and sauté until golden–about 2 minutes. I usually add some salt and pepper at this step.
  5. Add your white wine and stir. Cook for about 3 minutes, stirring often. Add bacon to the mixture and cook for about 1 more minute.
  6. Add hot pasta to the mixture and stir. Then, add beaten eggs and toss the mixture, so the eggs thicken but don’t turn into scrambled eggs–this should take about one minute of constant tossing.
  7. Add your freshly grated parm and chopped, fresh parsley, and toss again. Season with salt and pepper again.
  8. Serve right away topped with plenty more parm!

 

It’s quick, it’s easy, and it is so good! Even my boyfriend (featured as my sous-chef in the pictures above), who doesn’t typically like Italian food, LOVES this dish. Do yourself a favor and try out this delicious pasta dish. I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

