One Pot Red Wine Pasta

Red wine and pasta. Two of the things I love most in life. There must be people out there who agree with me, because it recently came to my attention that some avant-garde chefs are cooking their pasta in red wine. I would personally like to thank the geniuses who first decided to try this and post it on the internet.

It was only a matter of time before I tried my hand at red wine pasta, and I was quite pleased with the results! It’s a quick, low-effort meal (making it perfect for last-minute weeknight dinners) and it is super flavorful. So for all you wine lovers out there, here is my take on the dish: one-pot red wine pasta (because one-pot dishes are another one of my favorite things)!!

One-Pot Red Wine Pasta

Yield: about 6 servings

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 lb. of pasta of choice (I used angel hair, but I think linguine or fettucine would be delicious as well!)
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 small white onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 1/2 cups of vegetable stock
  • 2 cups of dry red wine
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 1/4 cup of fresh basil, chopped
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/4 cup of fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon or oregano
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup of freshly grated Parmesan, plus more for topping

What You’ll Do:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large stockpot, then add the diced onion and minced garlic. Sauté for about three minutes, or until onion becomes translucent.
  2. Add vegetable stock, wine, water, herbs and spices to the pot, and stir to mix all ingredients together.
  3. Add the pasta to the pot, stirring again, then bring the mixture to a boil.
  4. Cook according to pasta directions, or until most of the liquid has boiled off. With about two minutes of cook time left, add the Parmesan and stir.
  5. Serve warm, with plenty of Parmesan cheese to top it off…and with another glass of wine!

Very wine-y. Very yummy. Very perfect way to relax after a stressful day. It was great as is, but I also think it would add a great depth flavor to a marinara or Alfredo dish. Give it a try, and let me know what you think!! Happy Friday friends!

Leave a Reply

