A Springtime Engagement Party

Although I have loved to cook and bake since I was a young teenager, I have fairly recently discovered that I also really enjoy event planning. I’ve decided I will try and incorporate this newfound passion into this newly created blog!

I only realized how much I enjoy planning parties and get-togethers about two years ago. During this time, my mom and sister both got engaged–which meant that there were plenty of reasons to celebrate! As maid of honor for my sister and self proclaimed “daughter of honor” for my mom, I spent much of the past two years planning bridal showers, bachelorette parties, rehearsal dinners and weddings. Then, as I was preparing to graduate from UNC, I was offered a job up in D.C. as an event planner…an opportunity that I sometimes wish I hadn’t turned down!

Luckily for me, I now have more reasons to celebrate–my best friend Morgan is getting married and I am so excited to stand by her as her maid of honor!! I teamed up with Morgan’s mother last weekend to throw  her and Michael a lovely springtime engagement party! Although the weather was annoyingly cold, it was still a beautiful celebration. Here are all the details of the party. Feel free to use it as inspiration–wedding season is upon us, y’all!

First of all, let me just say that Etsy and Amazon are lifesavers when it comes to party planning. Etsy has sooo many cute party and wedding supplies, and I love supporting small businesses. On the other hand, Amazon is a cheap and easy way to get a lot of other essentials (I don’t know what I’d do without Prime…)!

FullSizeRender(2)
Invitations by Two Sisters Paperie Co

The invitations were courtesy of Two Sisters Paperie Co on Esty. They create your custom invitations and send you a PDF/JPEG, and then you simply take the digital file to a FedEx or Kinko’s to print the invitations however you like.

 

The decor was a combination of homemade items (the She Said Yes banner), Amazon products (flower balls) and Etsy finds (Save the Date banner and heart shaped confetti). We bought fresh hydrangeas and used tin buckets for keeping the beverages cool.

For food, we provided several heavy hors d’oeurve–I made my caprese skewers! I also bought a pretty cake from Whole Foods and topped it with a sparkly cake topper–another Etsy find.

For entertainment, I put the couple on the spot with an “Almost Newlywed” game, and asked each guest to provide the couple with advice and a DJ request for the wedding. I made the printables below on Canva.com!

Finally, for party favors, we gave out ring pops.

IMG_1708

It was really a blast. I had so much fun planning the party and I cannot wait for all the fun things to come! Expect to hear more from me on this topic in the future (:

Cheers to the happy couple!

IMG_1730

Leave a Reply

