Honesty

So much of what we see and do on social media is crap. It’s like we’re trying to create this ideal image of ourselves for all of our friends, family and old high school acquaintances to see. I am definitely just as guilty as the next person–I’m quick to document a vacation on Snapchat or post an Instagram of a fun night out with friends, but I never take to Facebook to discuss my biweekly existential crises (kind of kidding about the biweekly part…kind of.)

Anyways, the point of all this rambling is to explain why I’m going to share my latest failed baking attempt with y’all. I’m obviously not a master chef just because I have an amateur food blog, and I don’t want to pretend like I am! So I hope y’all appreciate/can relate to this little bit of honesty I’m about to share.

I am co-hosting an engagement party for my best friend and her fiancé (y’all met them here!), and I volunteered to make the cake–a white cake with lemon curd and strawberry whipped cream filling and a vanilla buttercream frosting. Knowing that baking is not always my strongest suit, I wanted to do a test run. Everything was going really well…

IMG_1545
Delicious, fluffy cake batter
IMG_1553
Beginning of the strawberry whipped cream
IMG_1557
Tangy and smooth lemon curd

And then it was time to assemble. And it became, as my mom called it, a Dr. Seuss cake.

IMG_1559
Definitely Dr. Seuss-esque.

I only put a thin layer of buttercream frosting on top before giving up. Maybe I didn’t whip the cream long enough, or maybe I erred somewhere else along the way. I don’t know! Perhaps I’ll figure it out someday and then I’ll share the perfected recipe with y’all (because it did taste really good, despite its cartoonish appearance). But the point is, none of us are perfect and none of us are the images we create for ourselves on social media. Embrace it.

Happy baking & cooking, and don’t be afraid to screw up!!

hlrwxhkzigwm0

Leave a Reply

